Michael Chekhov on the beach

The program

Michael Chekhov on the beach

A three-week in-depth exploration

into Michael Chekhov’s acting technique

on the island of Aegina, Greece

Monday August 10 – Friday August 28, 2020

 

DANCING WITH GODS AND GODDESSES

 

Organised by the Michael Chekhov Studio Paris, the three weeks of practical exploration into Michael Chekhov’s approach to acting on the island of Aegina aim to give participants an experiential overview over this approach to theatre. It will start with the first practical exercises and continue by applying them to the rehearsal and performance processes.

 

In the mornings, the course will explore many different aspects of Chekhov’s acting technique. These morning sessions will include an introduction to the approach to speaking Chekhov advocated for the actors in his training at Dartington Hall and in Ridgefield, Connecticut. This is known as Creative Speech.

In the afternoons we will be investigating the application of these same elements of the technique to the myths about the ancient Greek gods and goddesses who resided on Mount Olympos, getting to know them in their complexity and colourfulness; we may also look at scenes from Ancient Greek dramas in which these same beings appear.

At the end of the workshop, we will have the opportunity to create an open sharing of the explorations.

*****

WEEK 1 : EXPLORING THE FOUNDATIONS

MORNINGS

We will be getting to know the essential elements of the technique: this will include expansion-contraction, ideal centre, archetypal gestures, atmospheres and qualities, and qualities of movement, as well as exercises with the imagination.

 

AFTERNOONS

The focus of the afternoon work will be the world of the Ancient Greeks and the twelve main classical gods and goddesses who feature in the myths. We will be investigating the main stories, getting to know the gods as characters, and acquiring a practical overview of their varying biographies as found in the myths with the help of Chekhov’s approach to improvisation and other techniques, such as living sculptures.

*****

 

WEEK 2 : CREATING AND DEVELOPING CHARACTERS & RELATIONSHIPS

 

MORNINGS

In the second week we will be expanding and deepening our understanding of the essential elements and then starting first explorations of Chekhov’s tools for creating character. We will also continue with speech and text exploration using tools drawn from Steiner’s Creative Speech.

 

AFTERNOONS

We will be applying the essential tools of the technique both to specific characters and to the little works of art created from the improvisations from the first week. This will mean applying Chekhov’s approach to developing a living understanding of the characters’ relationships.

 

*****

WEEK 3 : REHEARSING AND CREATING PERFORMANCE

 

MORNINGS

The third week will continue to explore Chekhov’s techniques, and will include work on the Four Brothers and possibly styles of acting and speaking. It will also give stronger focus to the words the characters speak as expression of their inner life.

 

AFTERNOONS

The intention of the work in this third week is to give participants a practical experience of what Chekhov calls the four stages of the creative process, arriving at the ability to embody or incorporate a character and create living relationships between characters.

 

*****

We look forward to welcoming anyone interested in getting to know Michael Chekhov’s creative work and exploring the world of the gods and goddesses of ancient Greece!

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Gris LinkedIn Icône

Location :

Weekly workshops : 35 rue Saint Roch, 75001 PARIS

Professional workshops : in different places at Paris

Email : cie.azot@live.fr

Tel: (+33) 6 23 08 29 22

Michael Chekhov on the beach

Le Programme

MICHAEL CHEKHOV ON THE BEACH

Une exploration approfondie de trois semaines

de la technique d'acteur de Michael Chekhov

sur l'île d'Égine, Grèce

Lundi 10 août - vendredi 28 août 2020

 

IMPROS AVEC LES DIEUX ET DÉESSES GRECS

Organisées par le Studio Michael Chekhov Paris, les trois semaines d'exploration pratique de l'approche de Michael Chekhov pour agir sur l'île d'Égine visent à donner aux participants un aperçu expérientiel de cette approche du théâtre. Il commencera par les premiers exercices pratiques et se poursuivra en les appliquant aux processus de répétition et de performance.

Le matin, le cours explorera de nombreux aspects différents de la technique de jeu de Chekhov. Ces séances du matin comprendront une introduction à l'approche de parler Chekhov préconisée pour les acteurs de sa formation à Dartington Hall et à Ridgefield, Connecticut. C'est ce qu'on appelle le discours créatif.

Dans l'après-midi, nous étudierons l'application de ces mêmes éléments de la technique aux mythes concernant les anciens dieux et déesses grecs qui résidaient sur le mont Olympe, en apprenant à les connaître dans leur complexité et leur couleur; nous pouvons également regarder des scènes de drames de la Grèce antique dans lesquels ces mêmes êtres apparaissent.

À la fin de l'atelier, nous aurons l'occasion de créer un partage ouvert des explorations.

*****

SEMAINE 1 : EXPLORER LES FONDATIONS

 

LES MATINS

Nous allons découvrir les éléments essentiels de la technique : cela comprend l'expansion-contraction, le centre idéal, les gestes archétypaux, les atmosphères et les qualités, et les qualités du mouvement, ainsi que les exercices avec l'imagination.

 

LES APRÈS-MIDI

Le travail de l'après-midi sera axé sur le monde des Grecs anciens et les douze principaux dieux et déesses classiques qui figurent dans les mythes. Nous étudierons les histoires principales, apprendrons à connaître les dieux en tant que personnages et acquerrons un aperçu pratique de leurs différentes biographies telles que trouvées dans les mythes à l'aide de l'approche de Chekhov, à l'improvisation et à d'autres techniques, telles que les sculptures vivantes.

 

*****

 

SEMAINE 2 : CRÉER ET DÉVELOPPER DES PERCONNAGES ET DES RELATIONS

 

LES MATINS

Au cours de la deuxième semaine, nous élargirons et approfondirons notre compréhension des éléments essentiels, puis commencerons les premières explorations des outils de Chekhov pour créer du caractère. Nous continuerons également l'exploration de la parole et du texte à l'aide d'outils tirés du discours créatif de Steiner.

 

LES APRÈS-MIDI

Nous appliquerons les outils essentiels de la technique à la fois à des personnages spécifiques et aux petites œuvres d'art créées à partir des improvisations de la première semaine. Cela signifiera appliquer l’approche de Chekhov pour développer une compréhension vivante des relations des personnages.

 

*****

 

SEMAINE 3 : RÉPÉTITION ET CRÉATION DE PERFORMANCES

 

LES MATINS

La troisième semaine continuera d’explorer les techniques de Chekhov et comprendra des travaux sur les Quatre Frères et peut-être sur les styles de jeu et de parole. Il mettra également davantage l'accent sur les mots que les personnages prononcent pour exprimer leur vie intérieure.

 

LES APRÈS-MIDI

L'intention du travail de cette troisième semaine est de donner aux participants une expérience pratique de ce que Chekhov appelle les quatre étapes du processus créatif, en arrivant à la capacité d'incarner ou d'incorporer un personnage et de créer des relations vivantes entre les personnages.

 

*****

Nous sommes impatients d'accueillir toute personne intéressée à découvrir le travail créatif de Michael Chekhov et à

explorer le monde des dieux et des déesses de la Grèce antique !

 

CONTACTEZ NOUS

email : cie.azot@live.fr

tél: +33 6 23 08 29 22

Lieux :

Ateliers hebdomadaires : 35 rue Saint Roch, 75001 PARIS

Stages professionnels : différents lieux dans Paris

  • Grey Facebook Icon
  • Grey Twitter Icon
  • Gris LinkedIn Icône